snarkview: 10×05, hell on ears.


s-v

 So…Supernatural reached its 200th episode.

1312421497129

divider

whatepwascalled
Fan Fiction
[Insert something witty]
It Was Either ‘200’ Or Something Stupid, So We Went With Something Stupid

dividerrecap

The episode starts off with these girls rehearsing some kind of stage version of Supernatural. After the girl in charge flips out, the drama teacher bounces and she’s snatched by something outside.


We’re then assaulted by every single title card the show’s ever had. YAY.


Dean spots a case (missing drama teacher!) that Sam doesn’t think is a case. Dean looks extra orange and Sam’s hair looks extra stupid.

vlcsnap-2014-11-22-23h19m51s174

 

They go and check it out. Sam says that he was a stage kid but Dean points out that he was tech person (whatever they’re called). With hair like that, I think that was best for everyone. Unless it’s a production of Hair.


vlcsnap-2014-11-22-23h21m02s119

They walk straight into their own little high school Supernatural-themed musical. I will give Jared and Jensen some credit here, their expressions were on point in the scene. I might have laughed. A little.

tumblr_inline_mhx7iuURgT1qz4rgp


Anyway, Dean is not impressed because apparently ‘there’s no singing in Supernatural’ unless Dean is demonic and drunk and then it’s okay. Or unless he’s about to go to hell. Or…I’ll just leave the trivia to the rest of the fans.


There’s some kind of awkward scene where Dean wonders why Stage!Sam-and-Dean are standing so close together. WINCEST REFERENCE!!!! *drinks*


This episode basically has a lot of fandom related bullshit in it that I’m not even going to write out because I’m ashamed that I understand it all. After hearing a whole chunk of that, Dean tries to tell the girl in charge of the play what really happened because…that’s what’s important here. And then he finds out about Destiel.


Sam’s like, ‘Shouldn’t it be called Deastiel?’ and then he flicks his hair Cher Horowitz style…can we just give Sam a helmet from now on? That hair flick made me want to cry. Sam goes through a whole bunch of portmanteaus (including ‘CasDean’) because LOL!SO!FUNNY.

uhm no

Case wise – there’s no hinky props or paranormal activity (I can do pop culture references too!!!) on the set, so they leave.


Some girl called Maggie is taken by the weird monster outside after quitting the show because it’s ‘not following canon’. When Sam and Dean show up, the girl in charge (I have no idea what her name is and I don’t care) says the police didn’t believe her, but somehow seeing the monster has changed her mind about monsters not being real. I guess that makes sense.


The guys try to tell her (and the tech girl – don’t know her name either) that they’re Sam and Dean but that doesn’t go down well. In the end they somehow decide that the monster sounds like it could be a Tulpa.


But it’s…not a Tulpa. It’s Calliope. There’s a lot of exposition but I’m sort of just…not listening. This thing is basically against anyone trying to close down the show so…as Dean puts it, ‘the show must go on’ – that they’ve made it twenty minutes without using that phrase is commendable. Well. Not really.


The girl in charge – Marie (I know her name now! I still don’t care but it’s less words than ‘girl in charge’) – starts hyperventilating and Sam runs off and leaves Dean to deal with her. He tells her not to back down blah, blah. She agrees because the real Sam and Dean would never back down, especially her sweet, selfless Sam. Dean is not impressed. But he manages to pull it together in time to give the cast some kind of pep talk before the shows starts. The plan is to do the show so the monster can come and try and grab Marie and then they’ll stab it etc etc.

no-fuck-to-give_o_255182


I feel like the only people who would genuinely like this episode are the fans who are comfortable admitting that they are ridiculous human beings because this episode is an albeit awful celebration of ridiculousness. Though, I suppose anything is better than being portrayed as a crazy weirdo (Becky) who’s prone to kidnapping, drugging and attempting to marry and bone Sam Winchester. And people liked her too.


Anyway as the uh, show goes on, Sam and Dean are running around trying to get the monster. Sam kind of stupidly gets grabbed by it because he’s Sam and it’s not Supernatural unless he’s unconscious for at least a minute. He wakes up in the school basement where the previously-thought-to-be-dead drama teacher and Maggie are being held captive by the Calliope who’s using the monster (which is a Scarecrow now? Oh…how did I miss this *snort*) to grab people.


Eventually they kill it somehow and Calliope and the scarecrow erupt into this kind of purple goo.  Basically the audience ends up getting slimed. And they all start clapping. If I went to a show and got covered in purple slime, there would be no clapping. Clearly they were on drugs (explains why they were in attendance…).

areyouhigh


Marie gives Dean the amulet (or well a version of it) back and says that he shouldn’t have thrown it away….blah, blah, blah (they actually did have the reason behind Jensen not wearing it anymore in the episode, so I was surprised they brought it back up. But I liked the explanation Dean gave for throwing it away ‘It never worked. I don’t need a symbol to remind me how I feel about my brother).

That’s probably the only decent part of this episode.


At the end, there’s some kind of…awful acapella version of Carry On My Wayward Son. I honestly haven’t rolled my eyes this much since I quit Glee halfway through the first season. And then Chuck shows up at the end and says two words because Rob Benedict has nothing better to do. Ugh.


THE EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEND.

computer-smash-other-guys-Mark-Wahlberg-angry

 

And not a moment too soon. ACTUALLY, I WISH IT HAD ENDED 40 MINUTES AGO but hell, I do this to myself.

dividerthoughts

whitneywtf

Terrible.

I thought it might be slightly less terrible than usual because so many people liked it but no, it was the same standard of shit the show’s had for its last hundred episodes.

19 thoughts on “snarkview: 10×05, hell on ears.

  1. I feel like the only people who would genuinely like this episode are the fans who are comfortable admitting that they are ridiculous human beings because this episode is an albeit awful celebration of ridiculousness.

    OMG this. This so much. Funny, I dared tell someone that it seemed almost like the same crap that was in that convention episode and I got a lecture, “well of course it is, because that is a running theme of the show, bla bla blah.”

    Ha, I do remember that whole scene with LOL!Sam trying to come up with other ship names like CasDean but I don’t remember that hair flip thing for some reason. Which is weird, ’cause the hair just really sticks out….

    And yeah, the scene with Jared and Jensen’s reactions to seeing this whackadoo stuff are pretty good for a chuckle. And Dean’s explanation about the amulet was pretty nice too.

    But that was about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know at least one person didn’t appreciate the characterisation that ‘fans’ got in the episode, but it’s kind of…sad that so many fans seem to think that this is some hilarious, accurate depiction of themselves. (Even if it is, lol.) Oh god that ghastly convention episode has been confined to the bottom of my mind. *shudder*

      Lmao running theme! The running theme is to make fun of fans. They’re the joke but they’re okay with it which is their prerogative I guess. Hopefully the younger ones get some self-respect somewhere along the line!

      It just feels a little bit weird and….mean? A neater trick (for the whole series) could have been to parody a fictional show and include all of these things but I guess that would involve too much creativity and lack the ‘OMGMETA!’ theme they were going for.

      It was a blink and you miss it hair flick LOL. I only noticed because I was wondering why his hair looks like its been moulded into that shape with Vaseline.

      I think it was funny because that was also my reaction, but instead of doing the faces myself they were there in the episode already. 😛

      Not that I care, but the tone of the amulet scene is probably what they should have been aiming for with the entire episode not some convoluted half homage, half insult type of thing. It was probably the one line that Jensen delivered properly as well. The overacting in this episode…oy.

      Until the 300th episode! (I’ve jinxed it now.)

      Like

  2. I mostly think that the episode, as a whole, was a thinly veiled smear campaign of fandom (deserved, without question) and a slap on the back to the writers and crew for their attempts at witticism….too bad, it was another in a long line (180 out of 200, I’d wager) of predictable, tongue-in-cheek disasters. Do Jensen or Jared actually care about their lines? Do they have any respect for their characters? Or is this entire show thrown together with some duct tape, a monkey with a brain tumor at the typewriter, and a Magic 8 Ball? It is actually painful to see how little the overall theatrics (with what should be ret-con) are edited and presented for human consumption because it seems to convey the very low opinion, or maybe just a give a fuck attitude, the crew have about their consumers to deliver such an inferior product to the masses. This show in it’s literal translation should be: “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, it definitely was. It made me feel a little uncomfortable and I literally don’t have a good word to say about fandom. I do agree that it’s deserved (and it probably flew over 99% of their heads because paying homage = roasting your audience) if only because they all seemed to enjoy it. *snort* There hasn’t been a genuinely funny episode since season 5 (and that was the only the first half an hour of Changing Channels). They all follow the same formula: ludicrous plot, overacting, weird faces, nostril flare, more weird faces and 10x more pop culture references that I certainly can’t be bothered to look up.

      Do Jensen or Jared actually care about their lines?

      I’d say no, but they keep claiming that they ‘change’ their lines to make them better and I’m not sure who comes out worse. Them for obviously not having any writing skills or the writers whose original lines were so bad that they needed to be ‘changed’. Probably Jared and Jensen because despite having leeway to ‘change’ them, they still can’t deliver them convincingly. I’ve put change in quotes because I suspect they care more about not sounding unmanly than the actual lines themselves, lol.

      Do they have any respect for their characters?

      Nope. But I don’t either so I guess I can’t blame them. Oh, wait. I can – for collecting pay checks year after year instead of accepting that the show’s a dead horse.

      Or is this entire show thrown together with some duct tape, a monkey with a brain tumor at the typewriter, and a Magic 8 Ball?

      LOL. This is probably an accurate description of what happens during the ‘creative’ process. Especially regarding the angel storyline. They’re literally marching to the beat of their own drum with that one.

      Yeah, it’s really gotten worse over the last few years – probably because the show’s basically always guaranteed another season and the fans love everything anyway. So they get complacent and churn out the television equivalent of turds. The special effects are poor but retain some kind of cheesy element at least. The editing is a whole different mess. Bizarrely chopped scenes (in particular the bite-sized Castiel scenes being shoehorned into the episodes at random intervals. How is anyone supposed to be able to follow what’s going on?), camera angles that make no sense. That. Annoying. Blood. Splatter. Sound wise – no one seems to have told Jensen that he still has to enunciate his words even while growling.

      This show in it’s literal translation should be: “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit”

      Lol! This, basically. When constructive criticism is deemed as ‘hate’ this is what happens, lol. But hey, the show’s got a couple of Peoples’ Choice Awards and Jensen should have 3 Emmys by now and Jared’s got all of his fan-bought pity awards, and it’s the little show that could (!!). 😛

      Thanks for the awesome comment! :] (And sorry for responding with an essay LOL!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Season 5…..yes, the glory days, if ever this mutilated, shapeless form of a series ever had any….okay, yes, they did…..I was a binger with obsessive relentlessness of which now I wonder at, but that is the woe of being a sci-fi, fantasy, counter culture fan- you have to wade through a lot of crap ‘fillers’ or redundant concepts to get to the sweet spots where it all comes together, forgiving a show season after season for its punishing inconsistency. I really wish writers would take a note from Vince Gilligan (Breaking Bad) by showing us the story, not TELLING us everything with insignificant detail with that same disdainful feeling that we are too incompetent to pick it up on our own.

    Before the last Bourne movie was produced, Paul Greengrass (director of Bourne #2 and #3) had jokingly said that they should make a fourth called “The Bourne Redundancy”. That being said it’s not hard to imagine SN will recycle the suck over and over again, until some kind soul buys the CW and gives us 24 hours of home shopping or Jensen is picked up by DC to play Batman (in spite of Marvel)…..Jensen rehashing season after season, to move to rehashing movie after movie. I will lose sleep over that….maybe, that’s why I am worried about why he doesn’t sound as ridiculous now as he has in past seasons, is he saving his voice?

    I’ve put change in quotes because I suspect they care more about not sounding unmanly than the actual lines themselves, lol.

    In that case, they must love the goofy, misty-eyed way they sound in ALL of their car scenes (whether in the vehicle or outside of it). They clearly need to define what they see as masculine (backgrounds in soap operas should not be used as a reference), and act it out rather than repeats of a Lifetime movie.

    Bizarrely chopped scenes (in particular the bite-sized Castiel scenes being shoehorned into the episodes at random intervals. How is anyone supposed to be able to follow what’s going on?), camera angles that make no sense. That. Annoying. Blood. Splatter.

    Indeed, it’s hard to absorb the logic of it all (or lack thereof), I feel I need heavy medication so that I might stop committing to the abuse. Join a support group. “Hi, my name is Samgirl:)1056715, and I am an SN fan. I didn’t know I had a problem until I woke up from a heavy round of face palming to the point of blacking out while watching Season 7 and 8. I am just trying to take it one day at a time”…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At the time, I thought season 5 was quite good. I was even all for season 6. And then Swan Song happened. As a potential show closer, it works, but given that it isn’t, it is helpful in seeing what went wrong. Which always leads me back to previous seasons and now I’m at the point where I feel like, only the first three seasons are actually good. Season 4 was decent in some respects but in my opinion but all of the nonsense in the later seasons can be attributed to it so it’s on my shit list.

      I’ve not gotten around to Breaking Bad yet but the creator gets points for seeming to actually have stuck to this five year/season plan that a lot of shows claim to have. The problem with TV is that a show either gets too much time or not enough time and shows that had potential get lost along the way. I always find it amusing how proud SPN fans are that the show has made it for so long while ignoring how saturated it’s become over its run. And that it sticks around because the CW know that they’re (the fans) guaranteed cash cows. But yeah, a higher demand of episodes means that they end up stretching the story so thin that they’re reduced to exposition just to fill up time. And the only shows that can really get away with that are the CSIs and SVUs and whatnot.

      Isn’t the Bourne director on board to shoot another one despite what he said? Money talks 🙂 He has a point though. It’s funny how redundancy is now a mass marketing ploy. Oh, Iron Man grossed how much? Quick, let’s make the same movie all over again and just switch out the villain!! The CW seem to have struck gold with their comic adaptations so I can see them becoming some sort of dumping ground for DC when they give up on trying to match Marvel film-wise and accept defeat. Jensen betraying his Marvel suitors by defecting to DC would be a travesty!!

      I think (and hope tbh) that ship has sailed for him now though. That they supposedly can’t be bothered to pony up enough $$ to get him out of his contract (if they actually want him at all) says wonders. LOL. I think you’ve just become used to it. I watch the show with earphones and I can still make out the growling. Sigh. Nothing will ever be worse than whatever accent Jared was doing for the first half of season 9 though.

      In that case, they must love the goofy, misty-eyed way they sound in ALL of their car scenes (whether in the vehicle or outside of it). They clearly need to define what they see as masculine (backgrounds in soap operas should not be used as a reference), and act it out rather than repeats of a Lifetime movie.

      Their definition of manly is definitely skewed considering how many fashion scarves they own between them. I think they secretly love their Nicholas Sparks-esque roadside conversations but want to show that they still care about their lines and not how many zeroes are on the end of their paychecks. The idea of Jensen rewriting anything terrifies me slightly based on the four tweets of his I’ve actually read. And Jared too, actually. I’m sure they’ve rejected many of his Bieber taunts and tried to tell him that hating Bieber is very 2010.

      Indeed, it’s hard to absorb the logic of it all (or lack thereof), I feel I need heavy medication so that I might stop committing to the abuse. Join a support group. “Hi, my name is Samgirl:)1056715, and I am an SN fan. I didn’t know I had a problem until I woke up from a heavy round of face palming to the point of blacking out while watching Season 7 and 8. I am just trying to take it one day at a time”…..

      LOL. That doesn’t sound like a bad idea. Every time I watch an episode, I do stop to question my masochistic tendencies. I can only imagine that the group would eventually be overrun by fans blacking out from the sheer ‘awesomeness’ of it all, followed by those in need of counselling when the show is eventually put out of its misery.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry for my delayed reply, been under the weather the last few days.
        I, too, was eager for Season 6 (still aglow from seasons 1-5), but that painted-into-a-corner story line really made me wonder how the show could redefine itself after it was supposed to end, and like you said- it didn’t. Season 5 was the turning point where good went bad. One of the biggest problems I had/ have with it, is the ridiculous way in which they characterized Lucifer. Bringing an antagonist as a fallen angel, around since the beginning, down to the insignificant intellect of a schoolyard bully made me cringe. The purveyor of all temptation and evil, the one warring against God is brought to the screen as nothing more than a vapor, removing all respect and fear replacing it with a tepid worry…ugh! Why bother? Which was, of course, worsened with each season that they kept him around, as they simultaneously dumbed Sam down- I kept wondering if that was intentional or coincidental? Stanford educated Sam dissolving into a complacent yes man, with a lessening ability to think for himself, or even at all.

        I, too, have mixed feelings about season 4, “I know what you did last summer” and “Heaven and Hell” agitated me to such a degree, that I actually considered dropping this show then from viewing rotation. As for the first three seasons, well, they are the reason I am still here, not for hope that this show could redeem itself- utter subterfuge , but because it inspired me more than any other show has (which may not make sense, but this show just got to me somehow) and I’ve been here off-and-on ever since. I get that it’s definitely a cash cow , but isn’t it odd though, that it keeps dropping in ratings and overall viewership? It hasn’t gone over 3 million viewers since season 5…..well, at least according to wiki (and who knows how reliable that source is), but maybe a solid 2.5 is what they settle for now..

        Is the Bourne director doing another one? Lol, I just know he didn’t direct the fourth one. 🙂 Repetition being the mantra of Hollywood,it just demonstrates across the board that the ideas are stale, that decent stories are few and far between. This show is another casualty of indifference, with the only presence brought about by the crew is as you said, to sign for their paychecks.

        Their definition of manly is definitely skewed considering how many fashion scarves they own between them. I think they secretly love their Nicholas Sparks-esque roadside conversations but want to show that they still care about their lines and not how many zeroes are on the end of their paychecks. The idea of Jensen rewriting anything terrifies me slightly based on the four tweets of his I’ve actually read. And Jared too, actually. I’m sure they’ve rejected many of his Bieber taunts and tried to tell him that hating Bieber is very 2010.

        LOL. 🙂 Maybe you should try and be a writer for SN, you could only improve it from where it rests at this point. Warner Bros studios holds writing “contests” every year that end in June, and if they like the teleplay you issue, they groom you through workshops to become a staff writer. I have tried once, but didn’t submit it til July so I was overlooked. You have the snarky talent, but maybe involving yourself in the black hole that this show has become might be a career beginner and a career ender. 🙂 I feel that about it every time I go to write a scene.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No problem! I hope you’re feeling better now 🙂 and sorry for my own late response.

          I think with season 5 the main issue was that ‘this is your destiny’ crap with the vessels because it sort of contradicted the ‘we have to stop the apocalypse’ aspect, when they in fact were the apocalypse in a way. So yeah, ‘painted into a corner’ is the perfect description. They were left no option but to dilute the storyline when it became obvious that the show would be granted another season. I didn’t care for the Lucifer characterisation either. I liked Pellegrino’s acting but the whiny emo stuff was grating. In hindsight Jared’s portrayal was a little…ham-fisted in the sense that it was almost the complete opposite of what Pellegrino was doing, but maybe that was deliberate.

          I think dumbing Sam down was intentional because it happened alongside him being in each episode less and less. I’m not sure if that’s a producer choice or Jared’s choice.

          I, too, have mixed feelings about season 4, “I know what you did last summer” and “Heaven and Hell” agitated me to such a degree, that I actually considered dropping this show then from viewing rotation.

          Omg, yes!!! Those two episodes were so frustrating. The ‘love’ scenes being used as some kind of dial for Evil and Good was irritating. But nothing more so than the the fact that the demons and angels literally cancelled themselves out, rendering both episodes useless. And while seeing what Sam was up to was interesting, him and Ruby = predictable. The nonsense about the grace being in a tree was just….ridiculous.

          I know what you mean about inspiration, I definitely feel like that myself. If this show had never resonated with me, I wouldn’t even be affording it the time that I still do. I think the main draw of the show was the brothers and their dynamic and that was literally the heart of the show for the first three seasons. It felt visceral and real and not clumsy and heavy-handed the way it does now. And also the first three seasons had clear objectives:

          – Season 1: Find Dad, sort out their differences, figure out what the hell is up with Sam, and towards the end find YED.
          – Season 2: Avenge Dad’s death, bond with other hunters, figure out what the hell is up with Sam, kill the YED.
          – Season 3: Find a way to get Dean out of his deal, figure out what the hell is up with Sam (lol) and stopping the upcoming war.

          And by the time, we get to Season 4, there’s figuring out what’s up with Sam, Dean’s hell seizures, Dean’s drinking, Dean being the righteous man, Dean breaking the first seal, Sam possibly going ‘dark’, angels trying to do their thing, demon’s trying to their thing, Ruby, Castiel, the end, the Winchester gospel etc etc.

          I find that a lot of shows think branching out in multiple plots = enhancing the show (Person of Interest is guilty of this), but ultimately, sticking with what works is best otherwise you end up with the SPN method of bumbling along for 20 episodes before introducing yet another new concept to cover up the fact that they’ve left themselves with too many plot holes.

          I used to think it was odd myself (the ratings) but the CW is a special case. Almost everything on it would be cancelled if it was another channel. Things like their Netflix deal and DVD sales, and all of the tie-ins are what keep the show profitable to them. A lot of their shows have major studios as their main production companies as well, so that maybe helps. I’m not sure. And they clearly have no problems reducing the budget each year whereas the newer shows require a lot more money. They also get away with paying their actors less money. For example, with The Mentalist, Simon Baker earns something like 300/400k per episode (and has done since its 3rd season) whereas the most recent salary figure for Jared and Jensen was 175k. They don’t even have producer credit, which I always find surprising but maybe they took a pay bump instead.

          He is! I suspect that his issue with Legacy was that Matt Damon wasn’t coming back because they’re both on board for the next one, and oddly enough there’s a second Renner-led movie in the works, so I don’t quite know what’s happened there. I think it’s indifference and also fear on the studio’s part. With piracy supposedly threatening ticket sales, they’re all desperate to produce movies with a guaranteed audience (that will pay the inflated ticket prices) and nothing sells a movie like nostalgia.

          I used to want to be a screenwriter soooo badly, but for some reason I can’t write in script format very well. Or if I do, I have to write the story in prose form first and convert it so I always give up. 😛 But I like the sound of that contest 🙂 I’ll have to check it out! You should try and enter again! I could probably write an episode if I put my mind to it, but yeah…it probably would be a career ender, LOL! Especially because I can’t name one writer on the show now who seems to know what they’re doing. Though, it’s easy to blame the writers. They can do better but ultimately I think that the poor quality is down to the showrunner. If the showrunner can’t get cohesiveness from their writing team, they’re not doing a very good job. And while I think that seasons 1-3 were good writing-wise, when I watch an episode now (or well, in the last two years lol) I get the feeling that we all enjoyed the writing so much because they all knew what the deal was, as opposed to it being excellent quality writing. For that, I’ll tip my hat off to Kripke and the late Kim Manners.

          Like

  4. It’s season 10, and whatever is ailing Sam is still a mystery, because he has been ‘purged’ of demon blood, and gave me a case of second hand embarrassment for how bad is acting was when he ‘retrieved’ his estranged soul. He got a dog, there was the agonizing tryst with the vet (who DOES the CASTING for this SHOW? or is it like a day worker temp agency? some guy pulls up outside of a closed building at 5am in a truck, where a bunch of people are desperate for work, and voila! the next forgettable ‘red shirt’ is cast for SN?), his neurosis with Lucifer and that painfully stupid hand job he was giving himself to dismiss his episodes- honestly, what kind of a brother are you to allow your kin to continue hunting when he has likely taken a mental vacation? instead you suggest he should resort to an alternative ‘cutting’? and then there was whatever was wrong with Sam at the end (and the beginning of season 9), which I cannot be bothered to remember what I saw, and could not bring myself to watch the entire season. I know these issues are not in order, and I likely missed a transgression or two, but it was better in Season 3- when Sam’s source of turmoil was a secret, known only to the cast and crew- those were the days, indeed. When there were “no chic-flick moments” and Sam and Dean could be characters known by their slowly evolving personalities, and not their stereotyped, colorless shells supported only by their names as evidence to their identities. Am I pining for the varsity years, or what?

    Yes, season 5 was that of inconsistency….the back and forth narrative of Lucifer, and the to apocalypse or not to apocalypse dilemma with its contradictory undertone….but I think you nailed the problem:

    I find that a lot of shows think branching out in multiple plots = enhancing the show (Person of Interest is guilty of this), but ultimately, sticking with what works is best otherwise you end up with the SPN method of bumbling along for 20 episodes before introducing yet another new concept to cover up the fact that they’ve left themselves with too many plot holes.

    You’re absolutely right. I think- keep it simple, involve only so many arch points over time, and fine tune each one so as not to breach ret-con and dilute the overall plot. Tie archs up over seasons continually (not let Red John carry on for years and YEARS). Television can be like being at work, and like so many employees (viewers)- they would like to go home with a relatively clean desk, so as not to have a ton of objectives to accomplish the next morning, i.e. season after season.

    I think dumbing Sam down was intentional because it happened alongside him being in each episode less and less. I’m not sure if that’s a producer choice or Jared’s choice.

    LOL. I am not sure, but I would venture to guess that it was Jareds. He probably needed that extra time in makeup to get his hair under control.

    I took Robert McKee’s story seminar (by the serious urging from my uncle who said if I want to write for TV that this is the one class to take- and he made it easy by paying my way), and one of the many things I learned there was the story behind Casablanca. The story (which changed and progressed over time with each new writer and director appointed for the film, and that was quite a few) was just that, no dialogue, scenes, fade ins, etc. It was how Hollywood did mock ups to get the word out quickly (these stories were never more than 10 pages). The dialogue for Casablanca was written for the first time one to three days before the scenes were shot- this is kind of an anomaly considering it is the one of the most quoted movies of all time. So, maybe this could help make it easier for you- to write the story separate from the characterization and dialogue…? Just a thought. Also, get the Final Draft 8 software- it’s an industry standard from what I gather. Anyhoo, whatever watchdog regulates television enforces non-monopoly criteria, we’ll say, on the entertainment industry in which they have to hire greenies every year for every show. So, here it is: http://writersworkshop.warnerbros.com/apply-now/

    Like

    1. –I wrote this on my phone so forgive me if there are any strange typos!

      Lol I remember the weird orgasmic/childbirth-ish type of scream he let out when he got his soul back. It would always crack me up when I used that scene in one of my videos (the pointless kind that’s set to a random song lol). It was rather bad. My favourite part of him getting his soul back were the ridiculous hell seizures. The CGI they used was mind-numbingly bad but very amusing.

      Oh lord, season 8 was just awful for Sam. I don’t think the dog and vet would have been so bad had they not gone down the ‘I didn’t look for you’ route. And then they had him walking into Purgatory a few months after all easy breezy, lemon squeezey, which only made him seem that much worse. I was still a Sam fan up until season 8 when they turned him into an even bigger farce. Haha, your casting theory seems legit. The CW unashamedly hire young, pretty people without talent really being a requirement. It’s sad. The hand jabbing thing was so bizarre. ‘Cut yourself to know if this is real!’…because that’s normal. And because he couldn’t be feeling pain or bleeding in his mind? They could have at least ripped off Inception and gone for a spinning top, or as you’ve rightly pointed out, not let Sam hunt on the account of his mental instability. Sigh.

      Season 9…He was half dead and in a coma and instead of letting him die, Dean made a deal with an angel (after praying to all of them because no one on this show knows how prayer works!!!) and somehow angel possession ~healed him. That was just the first episode. I didn’t bother watching the next seven episodes and tuned back in time to witness Jared Padalecki emulating (and being inspired by) the wooden actor playing the Gadreel.

      I agree about the old days being better in terms of storyline progression and limiting what the audience knows beforehand. Now that the fourth wall is non-existent, cast and crew don’t care about spoilers and suspense anymore. Before the 10th season begun, they’d already announced that Dean would be a demon for all of two/three episodes. Then again, prior knowledge of this show these days can only be a good thing.

      That’s the perfect analogy for it (leaving with stuff done at work and not letting it pile up). Omg, Red John is a textbook example of when you should plan the ending of the story first. Or perhaps when shows should have fewer seasons. The season 3 finale of The Mentalist is one of the best I’ve seen in terms of story, suspense and (mostly) tying things up. Roll forward to season 6 and the entire storyline had collapsed under the weight of all the extra stuff that Bruno Heller came up with. Interestingly enough he’s gone off to do Gotham now so I wonder if CBS made him prolong the plot before forcing him to resolve things very quickly once they knew he wanted to leave? In some ways, I understood his reasoning behind leaving viewers with many, many unanswered questions (he most likely has no answers!) but damn. The reboot of the show itself is…poor. Simon is still delivering but everything else that was good about the show has gone. I’m hoping that season 7 is the last (why does this sound familiar…lol).

      I think another issue is fan involvement. Knowing what fans think and feeling as though they need to please them skews a lot of the writing. Dean having more vocal fans than Sam = him being turned into a whiny, emotional mess that can do no wrong. Fans loving Castiel = him being inexplicably kept on the show. Fans think John Winchester was a shitty human being = character dragged through the mud post-death. Fans campaign against Padalecki’s mutton chops = takes a whole season to get rid of them (I guess something had to give!).

      Hahaha, Jared would need to give up all screen time to have both his hair and make up under control. In the space of a season he’s gone from looking like John Travolta in Pulp Fiction to having some kind of 90s style mushroom cup-esque bob. I dunno. His lack of screen time dates back to season two. And the episodes where he was on screen for all of twenty seconds or so are strange to me. Dean didn’t require the entire forty minutes in either of those instances. I always wonder if it’s some kind of silent agreement to minimize what he has to do because they think his acting is questionable. That would explain why everyone gets so OTT with the praise every time he does something out of the ordinary. That being said, his turn as Soulless Sam was some good stuff. And he’s good at the darker versions of Sam. His angel portrayal (both as Lucifer and Gadreel) is terrible though. I remember how everyone raved about his two minute scene during that season 5 episode…The End, I think. And then Swan Song. And then the season 6 finale (LOL). He hasn’t had a good finale since season 3. He’s either on nostril flare duty, crying badly or…in the case of season 6, travelling across states in the space of minutes.

      Re: Casanova – That’s pretty cool! I imagine that the dialogue came easily once the story was set in stone. I’d probably end up doing something like that. And judging from the number of books written these days that have ‘HOPING TO GET A MOVIE OR TV DEAL’ written all over them, more literary authors are attempting something similar.

      How much is Final Draft these days? Thanks for the link! 🙂 Are you still hoping to get into TV or are you writing for TV already? :]

      Like

    1. LOL. I’m very happy that it pissed you off!! If only because you not only chose to read it, but you also think that you have any right to tell me what to post or write. I have an easy resolution for you though – in future take your own advice and keep your opinion to yourself or better yet…accept that people don’t have to like the same shit that you do. Once you’ve taken that on board, I’m sure your anger issue will resolve itself.

      You’re hilarious though. Thanks for the laugh. Have a wonderful day.

      Like

  5. Snark, how dare you post your own opinions on your own blog! You should be ashamed of yourself! LOL

    i still think that Padalecki at his worst is better than Ackles’s normal ackting. Not that he’s Daniel Day Lewis, but at least Jared can create a different character. Ackles either does his soap opera tics, mugs at the camera, or does his ‘headshot’ pose while growling out his lines like a bad Christian Bale impersonator.

    I think Kripke listened to the vocal minority of Deannuts and decided to cut Jared’s screentime down since S2. It got especially bad in S4 when SPN turned into the Dean Winchester and His Single Tear Of Manly Pain Show. I thinks it’s funny that the ratings tanked that season and have never really recovered. You’re right that on any other network, the show would have been cancelled years ago.

    I know that TPTB place inordinate value on loudmouth fans, otherwise the Cas storyline would have wrapped up in S4 as originally planned, instead of keeping this useless character around for 7 seasons.

    Like

    1. LOL. Clearly I’m doing this blog thing all wrong!

      I think talent wise they’re more or less equal. Though if asked, I’d probably pick Jared over Jensen. I think Jensen is a better emotive actor whereas Jared is a much, much better character actor. Emotive acting can become one note extremely quickly (especially when you’re playing the same character for ten years). And LOL at soap opera tics! And ugh, yes, the growling is awful.

      It’s a shame that Kripke and co listened because now Jared’s ability is stunted and Jensen is stuck in a cycle. Season 4 was way too much of a whiney emo Dean fest for me and it gets worse every year. I’m sure he’s back on his emo path of whinyfication in the season 10 episodes I’m yet to see while Sam is back blending into the wallpaper.

      Lol I watched a Hallmark movie yesterday and Jane Seymour was in it. She played Jensen’s mom when he was on Smallville. Jensen, meet your future.

      Not sure why TPTB should even listen to the fans that shout the loudest. The ratings stayed shitty when Cas was gone and when he came back, and despite what Singer and co may think, the lack of angels isn’t why people didn’t like season 6/7. Sigh. But they’re all just there to turn up for the allotted time and collect a pay check before going back home and (in Jared and Jensen’s case) acting like they’re wine connoisseurs.

      Like

      1. Apparently the Deannuts on tumblr are having a meltdown because Misha won the People’s Choice award last night. They’re accusing them of voting multiple times and calling the Misha fans ‘obsessed’. The hypocrisy, it burns!

        Like

        1. The only appropriate reaction to this is: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! Accusing them of voting multiple times is basically how the PCAs are decided so that’s dumb of them. LOL. Did they not go for the ‘Don’t vote for Jensen because he deserves better than a stupid PCA award’ method this year? Hahaha.

          I also saw that Supernatural didn’t even win anything this year. They were leapfrogged by…Beauty and the Beast (does this show even get over a million viewers?).

          Like

          1. Now they’re in the “The PCA awards are meaningless, and Jensen and Jared are above such things” stage of denial. You just know they’d have been proudly broadcasting a J&J win to the world.

            I figure the B&B producers rigged the vote in a desperate bid to save their show.

            Like

SNARK WITH ME!

