Bad Products, cont.

Once again, I have ventured onto my favourite website. Once again, I’m shocked, amazed and slightly grossed out.

1. Upskirt Umbrella.

Yes. You read that correctly.

We’re not going to pretend this is a mainstream trend in Japan but even the puritans among us have to admit: it’s a fun idea. The Upskirt Umbrella (or An-burera, a play on the words for “underpants” and “umbrella”) by Million Girls Project might be the most original umbrella you ever buy. Please just be careful not to get arrested when using it, though! The Upskirt Umbrella is a very tongue-in-cheek spin on Japan’s reputation for turning schoolgirls into sex objects. Well, it might not improve that image but it certainly makes for a novel way to keep the rain off your head!

Oh, yeah, it’s tongue in cheek and not at all creepy. What normal person would even buy this? I can’t even remember the price but anyone who does should probably be on a watch list somewhere.

2. Lap Pillow Mini Skirt

I don’t even have anything snarky to add here. Just read the text that they have added themselves.

This new version of the now legendary Hizamakura Lap Pillow will no doubt do nothing for Japan’s “wacky” reputation in some corners, but we still reckon it’s an awesome and fun way to get some shut-eye anyway. If you want that maternal feeling of resting your weary head on the legs of a woman, then prop yourself on the Hizamakura.

Resembling the “lap” of a woman, complete with red skirt, this takes you right back to that blissful period of nurture, when someone was watching over your every move. The legs this time are foam, thus making for a more comfortable experience. A great gift for guys, for bachelor parties and more.

This time they’re foam? What the heck were they before? I’m scared to find out so I’m going to move on here.

3. Vegetabrella Lettuce Umbrella

WHY. This is umbrella abomination of the highest order and I am personally offended that they chose lettuce. After two days lettuce ends up soggy. That’s not what I’m looking for in an umbrella. At all. Ever.


4. Pancake Playing Cards

I don’t hate these as much as I should.

Now I want pancakes. Time for me to click off this site. Not that I’d buy anything. Everything is extremely expensive in the sense that it’s not free.

8 thoughts on “Bad Products, cont.

  1. Hey, I’ve been to Japan and these items don’t surprise me at all. At least that first umbrella’s owner would never leave it behind somewhere by oversight (he wouldn’t dare).

    The lettuce umbrella is innocuous enough, but I can’t imagine what the target market is. Lettuce doesn’t arouse any great fascination in anyone, surely.

    Now I want pancakes.

    They probably also have pancakes that look like playing cards. In Japan, anything is possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping that whoever buys that upskirt umbrella would just leave it at home.

      Lol, there’s probably some weird lettuce enthusiast out there who would love that umbrella, but I guess that’s down to Japanese people’s weird love of things that look like food.

      …NGL, I’d buy pancakes that look like playing cards so long as they didn’t cost more than what I make in a month. Haha.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. Uh… XD I’m speechless lol. All these products seem like garbage and totally useless. The pancake cards seem ridiculous… why do playing cards need to be round? That’s just weird. I can’t believe someone actually made an upskirt umbrella. Who would want such a thing that’s bound to get a person in trouble? I have to disagree with the blurb too. It is most definitely not a fun idea, it’s obscene. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The blurbs are what get me. Whoever they pay to write them is probably dead inside. LOL. I have no idea how the site even makes money. The upskirt umbrella is not even the most disturbing thing I’ve seen on that site (that honour goes to the leftover bathwater drink).

      Like

  3. hahah – the first umbrella is sick and just wrong – but I would not mind the lettuce one – but can see your point.
    and funny things to find – enjoyed seeing these

    Like

SNARK WITH ME!