We Are Here To Change The World 


I can’t believe it’s been eight years since Michael Jackson passed away. 
Celebrity deaths aren’t really something that I go crazy over. You get those people who go out and lay flowers and everything and I’m always wondering why. They didn’t know that celebrity. Not really. 

That being said, Michael Jackson’s death was that one moment for me. His music was a huge part of my childhood. I’m pretty sure his song Ghosts caused my most scariest nightmare to date, but I’ve made my peace with it. It was my go to jam for a good couple of weeks, I just can’t ever watch the video again. 

Anyway, I used to know all of the lyrics to all his songs because I heard them so much. I even knew the words to Butterflies (which is underrated by the way). 

I still remember the day the news of his death broke. No one was sure what was happening. Was he head? Or just in hospital? CNN were running around like headless chickens. The internet was confused. Eventually it all became clear. 

Michael Jackson was dead. 

It was a huge shock to me personally. We had the excitement of his concerts in London. Some of my friends had tickets, I desperately wanted one myself. One minute he was well on his way to making a comeback and the next…he was gone. 

I remember going on a trip to an event at the venue where he’d been due to perform and everyone was writing messages to him on the advertising boards for his concerts. I have no idea what I wrote, but it was hard to find space. I always wonder what they did with all of it. 

Obviously, he became a controversial figure in the later years, and he was vilified by the press and public. None of that takes away from the fact that he was immensely talented. I’m not one to go crazy over singers but Michael Jackson is a legend, and his music is timeless. 

People will still be listening to his songs long after we’re all gone, that I’m sure of. 

Case in point: I recently saw Captain EO for the first time ever. I wish I could have seen it was intended to be, but it’s still pretty cool. We Are Here To Change The World is a great song and the overall message of the film is still relevant today. I don’t think anyone but Michael could have pulled off the earnestness of Captain EO. It’s well worth a watch if you have time. It’s about 15 minutes long. 

Going back to the music, I don’t think I even have a favourite MJ song because there are so many classics. The main ones like, Bad, Thriller, Beat It, Man In The Mirror, Smooth Criminal and others like Jam (Jam Jam, here comes the man, hot damn!), Dangerous, In The Closet, Do You Remember The Time, They Don’t Care About Us, Will You Be There?, Earth Song, She Drives Me Wild, Why You Wanna Trip On Me, Human Nature, Heal The World and You Rock My World. There are too many to choose from, but this is one instance where that’s not a bad thing.

Do I even need to go into his iconic music videos? Ghosts aside, watching an MJ video was always a good time. 

Hee hee!

Rest in peace, MJ 💜.

8 thoughts on “We Are Here To Change The World 

  1. Great post. I feel the same and was only listening to MJ this morning- Dirty Diana. Agree w/ you re the laying of flowers…while it is a solemn mark of respect I probably did not know the person…and sorry(not sorry) but I could use that fiver for a meal deal at Boots…but I understand that we are all different. Yup.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Dirty Diana is another classic! I love that song. Right? I’ve never understood it really. Nice gesture but…the dead person isn’t going to get any of the flowers or messages, so… but yes we’re all different – very true!

      I haven’t had a meal deal in years! Might have to check out what Boots have because Saintsburys’ ain’t what it used to be. 😝

      Like

      1. Dirty Diana is pretty good-I am told it was a tribute to Diana Ross-as MJ had a serious crush on her when he was a boy.

        Get yourself to Boots…the meal deals are good-and even if you don’t want a sarnie-you can have a wrap, salad or sushi. Allegedly. Haaa. True, Sainsbury’s is not what it used to be-recently got a pasta salad and upon eating it- I felt like I was being punished for something I had said or done earlier…of course, this was not the case! Haa.

        Liked by 1 person

SNARK WITH ME!

