retrosnark: SPN 5×22 (aka the one that I’m only posting because I’m clearing out drafts)


I’m technically still on hiatus with regards to my Supernatural viewing. I am…halfway through season 10 and I hear that they want to go up to 300 episodes so, I have plenty of time to not catch up. Seriously, how long is this madness going to go on for?

image

Anyway, I had this in my drafts and it is clean up day! I was going to rewatch Swan Song a while ago, but then I realized that I’d rather eat my own hair. I’m not and have never been a huge fan of the episode. I remembered recently that my view on the show took a swift downturn after ‘Swap Meat’, lol. So most of the episodes after that point will never go down as favourites of mine.

I think back when it aired, Swan Song was okay. I have to admit that once I’d seen it for the third time, I wasn’t all that impressed by it. Especially with the ‘coda’ at the end. And in hindsight, I honestly find it hilarious that Jensen was happy to claim that it was his idea before he saw the season 6 scripts. LOL. The regret must have been deep.

Anyway, I think right now the main problem with the episode is that nothing has really changed since then. Their other brother (I can’t remember his name now, whoops!) is presumably still in hell….uh, are they just going to leave him there? Have they ever mentioned him again? Do they seriously not care that he’s down there? Are we supposed to buy the brotherly love when they are literally the combination of the worst older brothers ever? I have no idea if they’ve clarified this or not but they have the temerity to have God on their show – they can bring back the half-brother for a damn second.

Not only that but Swan Song marked the start of what I call the ‘reset finale’ wherein everything the season has been building up to goes to shit because the writers cannot be bothered. And sure, brotherly love saved the day but that only happened by way of brotherly neglect so it doesn’t count.

The sentimental memory lane stuff was nice and all but still just a front to cover up the fact that barely anything happened. Sure, Sam drunk a ton of demon blood and gave into Lucifer. Sure, Dean stupidly decided to go after him. Sure, he got his ass beat for his trouble. And then Castiel fixed his face and almost everything that happened from that point on rendered Swan Song irrelevant.

I like to think that shortly after writing it, Kripke smashed up his laptop and screamed, ‘WOO, I’M FREE!!!’ as he stared at the charred remains of a season that went downhill long before Swan Song.

Still, at least it was somewhat entertaining. The dreck that has been aired past season 8 makes Swan Song look like amazing television.

Was the brother’s name Adam? I am officially Team SAVE ADAM! Or whatever his name is. If Jake Abel isn’t available I’m confident that anyone still watching the show would not question a cardboard cutout being used in his place.


Figured I’d post this before I (thankfully) forget even more about the episode and show. I’m glad that my brain is attempting to maximize its storage capacity by removing unwanted information!

2 thoughts on “retrosnark: SPN 5×22 (aka the one that I’m only posting because I’m clearing out drafts)

SNARK WITH ME!

