Mission: Impossible 2 (2000)


I’ve always liked the Mission: Impossible series. They’re fun, silly movies and clearly not to be taken seriously (the main character works for something called the Impossible Mission Force, which is kind of stupid because clearly the expectation is that the mission is possible).

When I was younger, I always liked the second one more because it was less complicated and had more explosions. I literally used to watch it everyday for a while, so imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon this hilarious Ben Stiller spoof of the second movie.

So I decided to watch the movie again and see if it’s aged well.

The plot is fairly simple. A molecular biologist creates a really nasty virus that rapidly destroys the body’s cells. He freaks out when his boss tests it out on someone else and lets them die and tries to contact Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise), an IMF agent that he knew as ‘Dmitri’. This message is intercepted by a rogue agent sent in to pose as Ethan, because Ethan is on vacation. This is done through the use of the weird face mask and voice changer thing. Sean kills the scientist and steals the virus so he can sell it to companies or something. The plot is a bit of a mess. In the middle of it all Ethan enlists Sean’s ex-girlfriend Thandie Newton, falls in love with her and then sends her undercover to find out what Sean is doing, so we have some kind of romance story going on. Obviously, Ethan Hunt saves the day but not without the help of his friend Gratuitous Slow Motion. There’s so much of it that it must account for fifteen whole minutes of the movie. It just looks silly. There’s a scene where Ethan smoothly slides across a glass floor (that’s covered in shattered glass), while pumping bullets all and in slow motion. It’s kind of like John Woo went through the script and made a lot of ‘EMPHASIZE HOW BADASS THIS IS’ notes on every action scene. The end fight scene was also ten minutes of back and neck kicks and ridiculousness but that’s to be expected. All in all, I just found it hilarious instead of bad.

In terms of the series, I’m going to have to wait to see the fifth one because I don’t want to pay any money to watch Jeremy Renner or fund CO$* in any way. I really enjoyed the fourth (Ghost Protocol) one (even though some of the stunts were just…ridiculous). The third one literally sent me to sleep. I think the reviews for Rogue Nation were good so there’s that.

*I am fully aware of the CO$ fuckery but, for the sake of my sanity, I keep my disdain of it separate from the M:I movies because I like them. 

SNARK WITH ME!

