I did not finish this movie but somehow it’s the worst thing I’ve watched this year. Even with Chris Hemsworth in it. The summary sound interesting enough despite the whole FBI working with China thing.

After a Hong Kong nuclear plant and the Mercantile Trade Exchange in Chicago are hacked by unknown perpetrators, a federal agent (Viola Davis) proposes that the FBI work with China to find the cyber-criminals.The leader of the Chinese team, Chen Dawai, insists that convicted hacker Nick Hathaway (Chris Hemsworth) be released from prison to help with the investigation. As Nick and his comrades chase their quarry, it becomes evident that the hackers have a sinister motive for their actions.

For a lengthier and more confusing plot summary, please feel free to read the Wikipedia page.

Anyway, yes, I feel like I should warn the three people that will read this post about this movie. It sort of rambles on like a book with every third page missing. I think in the end it turns out that:

Hathaway realizes that the hacker’s attack at the nuclear plant was merely a test for a later plan to destroy several major tin mines in Malaysia, allowing the hacker to make a fortune trading tin futures, financed using the funds from the Mercantile Exchange hack.

And this is stopped when:

Two of the hacker’s men catch up and wound Hathaway, who manages to kill them. Hathaway finally faces off with the hacker and manages to kill him, stabbing him several times in the chest.

Yes, Chris Hemsworth’s character is a little stab happy in this. There was this random fight scene where he was attacking these guys with table legs and broken glass, because they didn’t care about forming any semblance of reality. In fact in most of the parts I saw, it made no sense for him to follow the FBI to shoot-outs and murder scenes but he did. He even tampers with a crime scene and nothing happens. I couldn’t work out why they didn’t just make him a hacker/rogue agent, instead of a hacker who ‘toughened his mind in prison’.

I couldn’t really work out the plot to be honest, so, yeah. Consider yourselves warned 😛

4 thoughts on “Blackhat (2015)

  1. Well, absurdly complex plot aside, the notion that Ripped Hemsworth is a genius hacker is kind of ridiculous. Michael Mann probably realized that early on, shrugged it off as “suspension of disbelief” and added another plot twist.

    Like

    1. LOL! I completely agree. The scene of him at the start working out in his cell made me laugh. Chris probably should have played one of the FBI agents instead or something. It was almost as if he was acting out a character from another movie and got trapped in this one. Odd casting choice. I think I’m just going to refer to him as Ripped Hemsworth from now on lol. 😉

      Like

  2. Where was this post before I watched the movie? But I can’t lie, looking at Hemsworth for an hour and a half wasn’t all bad. It did distract me for an overall crap movie.

    Like

    1. Chris Hemsworth couldn’t even save this for me. And I say this as someone who actually rewatched This Means War recently (also a very bad movie) just to stare at Tom Hardy. I can watch just about anything but not this for some reason, lol. Although, I was amused by the distinct lack of chemistry Chris had with his love interest. When they got together I was legitimately confused and had to fast forward through it because I was cringing so much!

      Like

SNARK WITH ME!

