My favourite fan reactions.


As a sort of…fandom lurker…non-lurker. Does it count as fandom when it’s just the comment sections of recaps? Anyway I sometimes read these things for shows I don’t watch so I can remind myself why I don’t watch them (looking at you, Castle) and there’s always a general trend in the comments. All of which are amusing and irritating.

1. “I’M NEVER WATCHING THIS SHOW AGAIN!” otherwise known as the DVR Cleanup Strategists/How Dare An Imaginary Character Die? outrage society.

End result: Follows show regardless, making sure to reiterate that they’ve quit. Just so we know.

There’s nothing wrong with quitting a show, I mean, I’ve quit and unquit (apparently this isn’t a word but IT SHOULD BE!) Supernatural more times than I can remember but not over someone dying or leaving the show. I’m just much more likely to not laugh at someone who has a legitimate reason for quitting than someone who quits and intends on watching through their fingers until what went wrong is rectified.

2. “THE WRITERS DON’T CARE ABOUT WHAT WE WANT!” otherwise known as the Increasingly Entitled Fan Movement.

End result: Genuinely believes that TV shows operate solely to give fans what they want. Remains disappointed.

I think television writing is difficult in that they have to come up with something that keeps people tuning in every week whereas movie writers (and to a lesser extent print authors) have the luxury of being able to do what they want without relying on the audience as a reactionary tool very early on into their projects. In my opinion, writers are 100% right not to care about what fans want. Yeah, I’ll bitch about what I perceive to be shitty writing but if someone wrote me what I wanted, there’d be a Glee-esque TV show on right now with Power Rangers that kick ass at night and sing Backstreet Boys songs in tandem during the day.

3. “ANYONE NOT WATCHING THIS SHOW DOESN’T KNOW WHAT THEY’RE MISSING!” otherwise known as Stating The Bleedin’ Obvious.

End result: Succeeds in putting off non-viewers.

…basically Breaking Bad fans, Games of Thrones fans, Arrow fans…

4. “I’M BOYCOTTING THIS SHOW BECAUSE OF [INSERT AWFUL CRIME COMMITTED BY SAID SHOW]” otherwise known as the It’s Cute That You Think That We Care movement

End result: The boycott ends an hour before the show is due to air/much needed source of amusement/no one cares.

Well. Supernatural fans seem to care about boycotts but only because some of them derive pleasure in pretending that the show is on the verge of cancellation each week just so they can act like idiots when it’s inevitably renewed.

just-saying_zps02187df8

5. “THIS SHOW IS JUST A COPY OF THAT SHOW BECAUSE THE CONCEPT IS SIMILAR AND THAT’S NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE” otherwise known as ‘Oblivious To How The Real World Operates’.

End result: Forced to backtrack.

It’s kind of like saying that Heinz should be the only ones selling tomato soup, isn’t it? Or that there shouldn’t be more than one procedural cop show at a time.


I had this in my drafts and decided to get rid of it before I end up with 20 of them that I don’t remember writing, like I have done before, and delete them all.

I’ll probably have a recap up tomorrow depending on how I feel. I was trying not to watch the show while I’m sick but actually coughing over the musical parts of the 200th episode doesn’t sound so bad. It’ll be less painful than trying to emulate Van Gogh.

SNARK WITH ME!

