the joys of the comment section


These days a lot of articles online don’t make much sense unless you have some context. I guess people assume that everyone else follows everyone on Twitter and elsewhere, and it is an easy way to get more hits. Unfortunately for them, I can’t be bothered with all of that so I just go straight to the comments. Comments are probably the best and worst thing about the internet. There are some assholes, some people who don’t seem to be in their right mind and some who enter the discussion without having any plan to actually discuss anything. All in all reading comments can either be hilarious or really frustrating. I don’t really post comments much myself. Not because I don’t want to but because I can’t be bothered. I finally gave in and made a disqus account, but they like to sign me out every two days, so I just lurk.

For the most part I only really read comments on sports articles and reality TV recaps (feel free to judge me!) and there’s not much difference.

There’s the Recapper, this person will rewrite the article in their own words and add their opinion, thus essentially writing what seems like an essay. Usually they don’t say anything of actual worth.

There’s the Conspiracy Theorist, usually found on government related articles, but also on my beloved Reality TV recaps, insisting that we are fools, being led astray by the authorities/TV network. They’re probably right (in the case of reality TV at least) but does anyone really care? Not really. Well…

The Staunch Defenders are the people who you can see all throughout the thread, replying to every comment about the person/thing their defending. Usually each comment is basically a variation of the same thing. My favourite example of this was when Jared made some stupid comment about something and someone wrote it up on ONTD. This one girl took it upon herself to reply to every single comment that wasn’t in favour of Jared, vehemently insisting that he was joking. It just made her look silly in the end but I’m sure Jared appreciates her naivety.

Next, it’s the Haters. I hate the term ‘haters’ because it’s a little juvenile, but these commenters kind of fit the word perfectly. In terms of Reality TV, NeNe Leakes has seemingly wronged a lot of people. 😛  But it is kind of draining to read the comments from people who despise her. I despise Robin Thicke but not only would I not comment on an article about him, I’d go out of my way to avoid them. Haters pretty much open articles with the sole purpose of commenting with something negative.

The Ones Who Didn’t Read/Watch/Whatever The Content, And They Really Want You To Know That They Don’t Care – when in fact they obviously do.

Nine times out of ten, you come across The Ones Who Over Share. They relate the story to themselves and soon there’s a whole subthread about all sorts, or in the case of Amazon, an entire ‘Day in the Life of…’ comment masquerading as a review.

Last but not least, the Troll, whose sole purpose is to offend or insult anyone by posting things that are usually off topic and personal. You have to wonder why they bother when they know that most sites moderate their comments these days, but hell, once a fool always a fool.

Luckily for me, everyone who comments on here is awesome.

When I was younger I used to be one of those obnoxious posters who used huge, bright fonts because that’s what you do when you’re 11. And fond of shiny things. Needless to say, I was banned from certain forums for breaking the rules! 😀 If I was to comment on stuff these days, I’d probably be the person coming up with terrible, unfunny puns, so I will leave it to the comment experts and just continue to lurk and be punny. *CSI style ‘YEAAAAAAAAH’*

image

2 thoughts on “the joys of the comment section

  1. Reading that you despise Robin Thicke made me smile because I loathe that sleeze as well. Something about him really rubs me the wrong way and his music sucks lol. Some of us have better things to do than dwell on things we loathe by seeking out places to talk trash.
    Conspiracy Theorists can be amusing but I have to avoid getting to deep into that stuff or else I’ll become one of them (I have a genetic predisposition to irrational paranoia). Trolls are the worst. Get a fucking life you little piss-bots (I just made up a new insult!). I’m also guilty of simply lurking. The “Investigator” thing made me laugh more than it should have 🙂

    Like

    1. Lol, I saw Robin Thicke in that Husbands of Hollywood show and he creeped me out almost immediately. To the point where I stopped watching. Yuck. There is something definitely off about him. Exactly! I’ve been reading that Reality TV blog for over a year and every week it’s the same people saying the same thing. It’s draining aha. I don’t know why I read it really. I should probably pick up a book one of these days. 😛

      Some conspiracy theorists can be convincing. I think the most worrying thing about them is how much they care about being right. To me I’m just like, regardless of whether or not what you believe is true, go and find something better to do with your time! Hahaha ‘piss-bots’ – I love it!

      Lurking is the best option! I like to argue so sitting on my hands works out well! 😀

      Like

SNARK WITH ME!

